The Institute of Microelectronics & Optoelectronics

Article index

  1. Research areas of the Institute
  2. Scientific research achievements
  3. Selected research projects
  4. Scientific characteristics

The Institute of Microelectronics & Optoelectronics (IMiO) evolved from the Chair of Radio Engineering established by Professor Janusz Groszkowski in 1929. In the present form it has existed since 1970. Our Institute is linked with the beginnings of the Faculty of Electronics and Information Technology through the person of Prof. Groszkowski, who worked in IMiO until his death, as well as the territory – half of the Institute is situated in the Building of Radio Engineering on the Warsaw University of Technology campus. Here Institute’s Technology Centre and the Photovoltaic Centre are located. Institute’s Technology Centre includes laboratories of silicon processing (clean-room), hybrid technologies and assembly techniques, fibre optic and integrated optoelectronic device fabrication, laser optoelectronics, characterization of new electronic and photonic materials and manufacturing processes. These laboratories developed their activities based on research projects financed by Polish government as well as those within 6th and 7th UE Framework Programme. The Photovoltaic Centre promotes the widespread use of solar photovoltaic (PV) energy as a realistic, reliable, and economic energy source to encourage the integration of PV energy into Poland's research, economy, and everyday life. In 2009 the institute acquired substantial financial means for state-of-the-art research equipment through Operational Programme Innovative Economy. As a result a cluster of 5 laboratories offering high quality scientific services in the field of advanced electronic and photonic technologies will be established in IMiO.

The Institute of Microelectronics & Optoelectronics consists of five divisions: Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics Devices Division; VLSI Engineering and Design Automation Division; Image and Microwave Photonics Division; Microsystem and Electronic Material Technology Division; Optoelectronics Division.

Please consult the Institute website for a more detailed description of current research activity.